We have made it easier than ever to find answers to your questions.  See frequently asked questions about our services or contact us if you have additional question.


Consultation



Can I just show up at the clinic to see a nurse without an appointment?

Yes. It is possible to be seen without an appointment but it is better to let us know beforehand, by calling 819-595-0790, to help minimize your wait time. You can be seen by one of our nurses on the same day you call for an appointment. The fee for a consultation with a nurse is $60.


What are the reasons to be seen by a nurse?

If you have concerns about your health or if you are experiencing symptoms, one of our nurses can help you. Marleen Tassé Health Services offers an accessible health care alternative. The accessibility of our services saves you much time and trouble.


Vaccination



Why get a vaccination consultation with the nurse?

Our nurse will be able to provide you with advice on which vaccination you should get for optimal health protection, based on your vaccination record.


I think I know which vaccinations I need, is that enough?

Each place of travel, each destination and each person has its own particularities. A consultation with our nurse is essential to evaluate requirements, recommendations and suggestions relating to immunization.


Is a physician's prescription required for vaccinations?

No prescription is needed to receive vaccinations at Marleen Tassé Health Services.


Does my insurance cover vaccination?

The cost is not covered by the RAMQ. Some private insurance companies offer full or partial reimbursement of these costs. Please check with your insurance company.


Are there any side effects after vaccination?

Post-vaccination symptoms vary from one person to another. Most reactions are local (pain, redness at vaccination site). Sometimes a headache or a feeling of discomfort can occur. The nurse is there for you and will advise of any possible reactions and what to do if symptoms appear.


What if I lost my vaccination record? How do I know if I received a vaccination?

You can request your immunization record by contacting the public health office for your area. You can also contact your CLSC's archives department or the clinic where you received your vaccines.


Can I get more than one vaccine at a time?

When someone is behind in his or her immunization schedule, simultaneous administration of a vaccine can be a catch-up strategy. Generally, all doses of a vaccine for which a recipient is eligible should be administered at a single visit to increase the probability that the person will be fully immunized. Simultaneous administration of vaccines is particularly important for someone preparing for travel or if it is uncertain that the person will be returning for additional vaccination. Most routine vaccine can be safely and effectively administered at the same visit.

Some vaccines are provided as a combination product, allowing more than one vaccine to be given in a single injection. In general, oral, intranasal and parenteral vaccines may be administered at the same visit, with consideration of the minimum age and interval between recommended doses.


Under which circumstances should I cancel my vaccination appointment? If I am ill, can I still get vaccinated?

If you have a fever, it is best to postpone getting your vaccinated. In general, a mild infection without fever, such as a cold, does not constitute a contraindication. For more serious illnesses, or if you are taking prescription medication, our staff will provide guidance on what to do.


What is the difference between a required vaccine, a recommended vaccine, a booster vaccine, and a core vaccine?

Some countries may require proof of vaccination from you. These are "required vaccinations". Some African countries for example, demand a certificate of vaccination for yellow fever to enter the country. Without this document, you could be refused entry into that country or asked to provide a large amount of money, or worse, you could be required to get vaccinated and held there for a few days!

Recommended vaccines are those recommended based on norms by Health Canada and the Institut national de santé publique du Québec to protect you against serious diseases to which you risk being exposed during your travels.

A booster shot is the second dose of a single vaccine administered after an allotted amount of time.

Core vaccinations include all vaccines that are recommended to citizens according to the Quebec immunization protocol. Our experts will offer an update of these vaccines prior to travel (tetanus, measles, poliomyelitis, etc.)


If I do get vaccinated, is it guaranteed that I won't contract the disease (e.g.: shingles, influenza)

Vaccination is the best form of protection against shingles and its complications. In fact, there is a new vaccine, Zostavax®, for the prevention of shingles. It is recommended for people who have already had chicken pox, but particularly for persons 60 years of age or older. The vaccine is not 100% effective, but it reduces the risk of contracting shingles significantly. Furthermore, if shingles should appear in someone who has been vaccinated, the symptoms are often less severe and the risk of post-herpetic neuralgia is reduced as well.


I received the flu vaccine last year but still got the flu, so what's the point?

The flu virus envelope changes from year to year modifying the strains of the virus enough to make the previous year's vaccine ineffective. Those changes are taken into account for the production of new vaccines every year.

The vaccination offers protection against the three strains of the virus that are expected to be more prevalent that season. This is the best way to reduce the risks of contracting influenza and to prevent transmission to other people.


I'm pregnant. Can I still get vaccinated?

Some vaccines cannot be administered during pregnancy. Most of the vaccines that cannot be administered are the ones called "live" vaccines (e.g.: yellow fever, chicken pox, the trio of measles/rubella/mumps.) For other vaccines, you can receive them according to your situation and the risk involved.


Operational



Does my personal insurance (The Personal , Sun Life, Great West, or others) cover the cost for the services I received ?

Generally, blood tests and other nursing services can be reimbursed depending on the insurance plan. This depends on your insurance company, thus, we invite you to please check with them. However, private health care services are tax deductible.


Can the RAMQ reimburse me?

No, the RAMQ does not reimburse costs incurred in private care.


I work days; can I get an evening appointment?

Since the demand for these services is growing rapidly, Marleen Tassé Health Services is proud to offer unmatched accessibility for its clients. We are able to answer your requests on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., and on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays from 7:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.


Is there parking?

Yes, we have lots of free parking for our clients.


Which form of payment is available?

Credit card (Master Card, Visa), Interac, Cash.


Where are you located?

1171 St-Joseph Boulevard, Gatineau, J8Z 2C3


Women's health



Why take a Pap test?

Pap tests are necessary mostly to:

  • screen for and help diagnose pre-cancerous cells on the cervix or cancer of the cervix;
  • help diagnose pre-cancerous cells in the vagina or vagina cancer;
  • help diagnose infection or inflammation in the lower female reproductive tract;

Pap tests are also performed to follow up on previous abnormal Pap tests, to monitor precancerous conditions, or to check for cancer recurrence after treatment.


Blood tests



Do I need to fast before getting blood work done?

Most blood tests require an 8-hour fasting period beforehand. However, if your tests include cholesterol testing (lipids profile), a 12-hour fasting period is needed, as well as no alcohol 24 hours prior to your blood tests.


Can I pick up the sample containers needed for my exams, before coming for my blood tests?

Yes. You may come and pick up what is needed and one of our nurses will advise you on how to proceed.


How long will it take before I get the results?

Since we know that your time and health are precious, our blood analysis services are quick and professional. For most analysis (with the private laboratory option), results are sent within 24-48 hours directly to the physician and are also available online for the client.

There is also the option of getting the tests done in a hospital. With this option, however, our clinic does not receive the results and cannot follow up with you; they are sent directly to your treating physician.


Do I need my health insurance card (RAMQ) if I choose the private clinic option?

No. Your RAMQ card is not required for test samples that are sent to a private laboratory.


Is a requisition by my doctor needed for blood tests?

Yes. We accept all medical requisition forms.


Why should I choose a private clinic for my blood tests?

There is no waiting in line at the CLSC or the hospital. Testing is done in a welcoming and peaceful environment.


Does my insurance cover blood tests and/or vaccinations?

The cost is not covered by the RAMQ. Some private insurance companies offer full or partial reimbursement of these costs. Please check with your insurance company.


Travel health vaccination



We leave next week for our trip. Is it too late to get vaccinated?

We will do our best to help you. It is possible to get vaccinated against certain types of diseases even at the last minute which is better than no vaccination at all. Also, during a consultation, you can always benefit from important health information and receive your medical prescriptions if necessary so that you can fully enjoy your trip. Ideally, however, 6 to 8 weeks prior to travelling is the best time to receive necessary vaccinations and boosters.


As an adult, should I get my core vaccines up to date before flying internationally?

It is important to make sure your vaccinations are up to date no matter your age. A travel health vaccination expert is then your best source of advice!

Make sure you bring your immunization record with you for your travel consultation so that we can better assess your needs.


What is the International Certificate of Vaccination?

The certificate is only valid if the vaccine or prophylaxis used has been approved by the World Health Organization.

The certificate should be signed by the health care provider - physician or other authorized health professional - administering the vaccine or prophylaxis; it should also show the health centre's official stamp. However, the stamp does not replace the signature.

Any changes or deletion on the certificate, or any omission of the required information could invalidate it.

This certificate is valid until the date indicated for the vaccine or prophylaxis administered. It should be either entirely in English or entirely in French. The same certificate can also be in another language, in addition to the English or the French version.


Should I take DUKORAL® every time I leave?

Protection against cholera and travelers' diarrhea caused by ETEC is effective approximately one week after the administration of the last dose.

Protection against travelers' diarrhea caused by ETEC lasts 3 months.

Protection against cholera lasts two years for adults and children 6 years old and older, and six months for children 2-6 years old.

If you have taken DUKORAL® in the past five years, one single booster dosage will renew your protection. Packages with a single booster dosage are available at your pharmacy and should be taken one week prior to leaving on your trip.


Vaccination: is it really necessary? I've always travelled without getting vaccinated and I've never contracted anything.

Depending on your destination, the length of time you are away, the type of travel and your health condition, you may need travel vaccines for protection against debilitating illnesses. These vaccines have a high efficiency rate; for most, effectiveness is between 70% and 99%. Further, protection with some of these vaccines lasts a very long time, up to 20 years for some.

Certain vaccines are mandatory to enter some foreign countries and others are strongly recommended for health protection.


Do children need travel vaccines also?

A child's health is just as fragile as an adult's. It is recommended that all family members receive appropriate protection according to the destination.


I'm planning an all-inclusive trip, but I intend on booking a 4 or 5-star hotel. Should I still get vaccinated?

For all sunny destinations, it is recommended to get booster shots for tetanus, polio, as well as Hepatitis A and B, regardless of hotel quality where you are staying.

Unfortunately, it is common to see tourists who stayed at 4 and 5-star hotels return home with illnesses that could have been prevented with vaccination.


Screening



Why screen for sexually transmitted infections (STI, previously known as STD)?

If you think you might have contracted an STI or if you are experiencing symptoms such as vaginal or urethral discharge, or have new lesions on your genitals, it is imperative that you see a doctor and have screening tests done.

STI prevention is important not only for your own general health but also for your partners'. Some STIs can bring serious consequences such as abscesses, ongoing infections, sterility, or in some cases certain cancers. Denying or avoiding an STI puts you and your partners at risk of complications.

STI screening is part of sexual life. If you have a new partner, there is no shame in going together to get tested. This is a way to show how much you care for him or her, and that you are a responsible person.


What are chlamydia infection, gonorrhea infection, etc?

Chlamydia (kla-mid-ee-ah) is a bacterial infection, which can be caused by different strains that can cause different types of infections. While Chlamydia pneumoniae can cause a type of pneumonia, and Chlamydia psittaci can cause another type of pneumonia (associated with being exposed to birds), Chlamydia trachomatis is the one responsible for the STI.

Gonorrhea, also called the clap, the drip, or blennorrhagia, is an STI caused by the Neisseria gonorrheae bacteria.


Do I need a requisition for a Pap test/screening?

A requisition is not necessary to get a Pap test and screening. We offer these services, as well as treatment and follow-up. We will work with your family physician and can, if required, also refer you to a treating physician should you not have a family physician.


What is the follow-up for abnormal results?

Abnormal results do not necessarily mean that a woman has cancer. These can be caused by:

  • an infection, such as a yeast infection or a Human Papilloma Virus (HPV) infection;
  • inflammation;
  • an intra-uterine device (IUD);
  • precancerous changes in cells.

Follow-up options can vary. Depending on the severity, not all changes or abnormalities need treatment. If medical follow-up is necessary, a nurse will let you know.


Business hours :

Monday to Thursday: 7:00 AM to 8:00 PM
Friday: 7:00 AM to 3:00 PM

Saturday & Sunday: Closed

Blood tests, Walk-in :

Monday to Friday: 7:00 AM to 8:00 PM

Private laboratory :

Monday and Wednesday : 7:00 AM to 3:45 PM
Tuesday ans Thursday: 7:00 AM to 7:15 PM
Friday: 7:00 AM to 2:45 PM

 

Late Arrival Policy

 

In our efforts to offering you appropriate care and minimize wait time for all our patients, we have implemented a late arrival policy. If you are late for your appointment, please contact us immediately at 819-595-0790 to notify us. If we are unable to answer your call, please leave a message on our voicemail.

  • If a client is less than 10 minutes late : the allotted appointment time will be reduced but it is still to provide service for the care needed.
  • If you are more than 10 minutes late : the reduced allotted appointment time may be  considerable and we may not have enough time to fully accommodate the type of service or care needed.

You will have the choice to:

  • Attend your appointment knowing that we may not be able to accommodate the full appointment time required for your health care and you may have to schedule another appointment for completion of the assessment; or

  • Reschedule another appointment in order to maximize your appointment time with our health professional.

All clients are encouraged to arrive at the office 15 minutes prior to their scheduled appointment to register and complete any required paperwork. 

We aim to make your visit a pleasant one. We do recognize that situations arise that are out of your control. We will try to accommodate late‐comers as best as possible, but cannot compromise on the quality and timely care provided to our other patients

We appreciate your compliance and understanding with this policy so that we can continue to provide excellent health care as well as excellent customer service. 

Thank you!

 

 


Services de santé Marleen Tassé
1171, St-Joseph, Blvd
Gatineau (Québec) J8Z 2C3

Telephone     819 595-0790
Fax                819 778-8844
Email             info@marleentasse.com

Il est plus facile que jamais de trouver des réponses á vos questions. Consultez les questions fréquentes sur nos services ou n’hésitez pas à nous contacter.


Consultation



Puis-je me présenter sans rendez-vous à votre clinique pour une consultation avec une infirmière ?

Oui il est possible de vous recevoir sans rendez-vous pour une consultation mais il est préférable de téléphoner pour nous aviser de votre visite au 819 595-0790 afin de minimiser votre temps d'attente. Vous pouvez rencontrer l'une de nos infirmières pour une consultation et ce, le jour même de votre prise de rendez-vous. Frais de 60$ pour une consultation avec une infirmière.


Je peux consulter une infirmière pour quelles raisons ?

Si vous avez une inquiétude quant à votre état de santé ou que vous éprouvez des symptômes, l'une de nos infirmières peut vous conseiller. Services de santé Marleen Tassé vous offre une alternative accessible en matière de soins de santé. Cette accessibilité vous évitera bien des maux et tracas.


Vaccination



Pourquoi une consultation de vaccination avec l'infirmière ?

Notre infirmière pourra vous conseiller en fonction des vaccins que vous devriez recevoir pour une protection au maximum de votre santé et selon votre carnet de vaccination.


Je pense que je sais de quels vaccins j'ai besoin. Est-ce suffisant ?

Chaque personne, chaque voyage, chaque destination présente ses propres particularités. Une consultation auprès de notre personnel est essentielle afin d'évaluer ce qui est nécessaire, recommandé ou tout simplement suggéré en ce qui concerne votre immunisation.


Avons-nous besoin d'une prescription d'un médecin pour les vaccins ?

Aucune ordonnance n'est nécessaire pour vous faire vacciner chez Services de santé Marleen Tassé.


Est ce que mes assurances couvrent les frais d'un vaccin ?

Les frais ne sont pas couverts par la RAMQ. Certaines compagnies d'assurances privées remboursent au complet ou en partie ces frais. Vous devez vérifier avec votre compagnie d'assurance.


Y a-t-il des effets secondaires aux vaccins ?

Les symptômes après la vaccination peuvent varier de personne en personne. La plupart des réactions sont locales (douleur, rougeur à l'endroit où l'injection à été fait). Parfois, un mal de tête ou malaise peut arriver. L'infirmière serra présente pour vous informer de toute réaction possible ainsi que ce qu'il faut faire au cas où des symptômes feraient surface.


Si j'ai égaré mon carnet de vaccination, comment je sais si j'ai reçu un vaccin?

Vérifiez avec la direction de la santé publique de votre territoire, demandez un relevé de vaccination. Contactez les archives du CLSC ou de la clinique où vous avez reçu les vaccins.


Est-ce que je peux recevoir plusieurs vaccins à la fois?

Si une personne a du retard dans son calendrier de vaccination, l'administration simultanée d'un vaccin peut agir comme une stratégie de rattrapage. En général, toutes les doses de vaccin qu'une personne peut recevoir lors d'une seule visite devraient lui être administrées afin d'accroître la probabilité que cette personne soitcomplètement immunisée. L'administration simultanée de vaccins est particulièrement importante dans le cas de personnes qui se préparent à voyager ou lorsqu'on doute que la personne revienne pour les autres vaccins. La plupart des vaccins systématiques peuvent être administrés efficacement et sans danger lors d'une même visite.

Certains vaccins sont fournis sous forme de produit combiné, ce qui permet d'administrer plus d'un vaccin avec une seule injection. En général, les vaccins oraux, à administration intranasale et à administration parentérale peuvent être administrés lors de la même visite si cela est indiqué, et si l'on tient compte de l'âge minimum et des intervalles entre les doses recommandés.


Dans quelles circonstances dois-je annuler un rendez-vous pour un vaccin? Si je suis malade, est-ce que je peux tout de même être vacciné?

Si vous présentez de la fièvre, il est préférable de reporter votre vaccin. En général, une infection bénigne sans fièvre, comme un rhume, ne constitue pas une contre-indication. Dans des cas de maladies plus graves ou si vous prenez des médicaments prescrits, notre personnel saura vous conseiller.


Quelle est la différence entre un vaccin obligatoire, un vaccin recommandé, un vaccin de rappel et un vaccin de base?

Certains pays sont susceptibles d'exiger une preuve de vaccination de votre part. L'on parle alors de « vaccin obligatoire ». Par exemple, vous ne pourrez franchir les douanes de certains pays d'Afrique sans présenter un certificat de vaccination contre la fièvre jaune. Sans ce papier, on pourrait vous refuser l'entrée au pays, vous demander une forte somme d'argent, ou pire encore, vous vacciner et vous retenir quelques jours sur place!

Les vaccins recommandés sont ceux que nous vous conseillons de recevoir selon les normes de Santé Canada et de l'Institut national de santé publique du Québec afin de vous protéger adéquatement contre les maladies sérieuses auxquelles vous risquez d'être exposé durant votre voyage.

Un vaccin de rappel consiste en l'administration d'une seconde dose d'un même vaccin après un temps donné.

La vaccination de base comprend tous les vaccins recommandés aux citoyens selon le protocole d'immunisation du Québec. Nos experts vous offriront une mise à jour de ces vaccins avant un voyage (la vaccination contre le tétanos, la rougeole, la poliomyélite, etc.).


Si je me fais vacciné, est-ce que c'est sur que je ne contracterai pas la maladie (ex : Zona, grippe)

La vaccination constitue la meilleure protection contre le zona et ses complications. Il existe en effet un nouveau vaccin, le Zostavax, qui contribue à prévenir le zona. Il est destiné aux personnes ayant déjà eu la varicelle, mais plus particulièrement aux 60 ans et plus. Ce vaccin ne protège pas à 100% du zona, mais il réduit sensiblement le risque d'en être atteint. En outre, lorsque le zona survient malgré la vaccination, la gravité des symptômes se trouve diminuée, de même que le risque de névralgie postzona.

L'année passé j'ai été vacciné et j'ai contracté la grippe quand même alors ça donne quoi?

L'enveloppe du virus de la grippe subit des modifications d'une année sur l'autre, et donne ainsi naissance à des virus suffisamment différents pour que le vaccin inoculé l'année précédente ne soit plus efficace. Le nouveau vaccin produit chaque année tient compte de ces modifications.

La vaccination offre une protection contre les trois souches de la maladie ayant la plus forte prévalence au cours d'une saison donnée. C'est le meilleur moyen de limiter vos risques de contracter une mauvaise grippe et de la transmettre à d'autres personnes.


Je suis enceinte. Puis-je tout de même recevoir des vaccins?

Certains vaccins ne peuvent être administrés lors d'une grossesse. La plupart de ceux-ci sont les vaccins dits « vivants » (par exemple, la fièvre jaune, la varicelle et le trio rougeole/rubéole/oreillons). Pour ce qui est des autres vaccins, vous pourrez les recevoir selon votre situation et les risques encourus.


Opérationnel



Est-ce que mes assurances personnelles (La Personnelle, Sun Life, Great West ou autres) remboursent les frais reliés aux services reçus?

La majorité du temps, les prises de sang et autres services infirmiers sont remboursables selon le régime d'assurance. Ceci dépend de votre compagnie d'assurances, nous vous invitons donc à les contacter. Toutefois, vous pouvez déduire de vos impôts les frais de santé privés.


Est-ce que la RAMQ peut me rembourser?

Non, la RAMQ ne rembourse pas les frais engagés dans le privé.


Je travaille de jour, est-ce que je peux avoir un rendez-vous en soirée?

Parce que nous savons que la demande de service est en forte croissance, Service de santé Marleen Tassé se fait un point d'honneur d'offrir une disponibilité inégalée à ses clients. Nous sommes en mesure de répondre à vos demandes de 7 h jusqu'à 20 h 00, les mardis et jeudis et de 7h à 15h les lundis, mercredis et vendredis.


Est-ce que vous offrez des espaces de stationnement?

Oui, de nombreux espaces de stationnement sont mis à votre disposition et ce, gratuitement.


Quels sont les modes de paiement acceptés?

Il est possible de payer en argent comptant, débit et par carte de crédit.


Où est située la clinique ?

1171 boulevard St-Joseph, Gatineau, J8Z 2C3.


Santé des femmes



Pourquoi faire un test Pap ?

On a surtout recours au test Pap pour :

  • dépister et aider à diagnostiquer des états précancéreux du col de l'utérus ou un cancer du col
  • aider à diagnostiquer des états précancéreux du vagin ou un cancer du vagin
  • aider à diagnostiquer une infection ou une inflammation dans la partie inférieure de l'appareil génital de la femme

Le test Pap permet aussi de faire le suivi de résultats antérieurs anormaux, de surveiller des états précancéreux et de vérifier la présence d'une récidive du cancer après un traitement.


Prélèvements



Dois-je être à jeun pour mes prises de sang ?

La plupart des prises de sang nécessitent une période de jeûne minimale de 8 heures. Si vos analyses comprennent celle pour le cholestérol (bilan lipidique), vous devrez dans ce cas être à jeun pendant 12 heures et ne pas avoir consommé d'alcool au minimum 24 heures avant votre prise de sang.


Est-ce que je peux venir chercher les contenants pour mes examens avant de venir pour mes prises de sang ?

Oui il est possible de venir chercher ce qu'il fait et nos infirmières vous informeront sur la procédure.


Combien de temps ça prend avant de recevoir les résultats ?

Comme nous savons que votre temps et santé n'ont pas de prix, nous vous offrons un service de prélèvement rapide et professionnel. Résultats en 24-48 heures pour la plupart des analyses (avec le service d'analyses en laboratoire privé) envoyés directement au médecin et accessibles en ligne pour le client.
Aussi, possibilité de faire les analyses au centre hospitalier. Cette méthode ne nous permet pas par contre de recevoir ici en clinique les résultats pour faire un suivi avec vous. Le Laboratoire les envois directement à votre médecin traitant.


Est-ce que j'ai besoin de ma carte de la RAMQ pour si je choisi de faire mes analyses avec le laboratoire privé ?

Non. La RAMQ est non nécessaire si les analyses sont envoyées en laboratoire privé.


Avons-nous besoin d'une requête du médecin pour les prises de sang ?

Oui. Nous acceptons toutes les requêtes médicales.


Pourquoi je choisirai de venir en clinique privée pour mes prélèvements ?

Aucune attente en ligne dans les CLSC ou les hôpitaux. Les prélèvements sont faits dans un environnement chaleureux et serein.


Est-ce que mes assurances couvrent les frais d'une prise de sang ou du vaccin ?

Les frais ne sont pas couverts par la RAMQ. Certaines compagnies d'assurances privées remboursent au complet ou en partie ces frais. Vous devez vérifier avec votre compagnie d'assurances.


Santé voyage



Nous quittons pour un voyage la semaine prochaine. Sommes-nous trop tard pour être vacciné ?

Nous ferons notre possible pour vous aider. Pour certaines maladies, il est toujours possible d'être vacciner à la dernière minute et parfois même préférable que de ne rien recevoir du tout. Aussi, lors de votre consultation, vous pourrez toujours profiter de conseils santé importants et recevoir vos prescriptions médicales si nécessaire afin de profiter pleinement de votre voyage. Mais idéalement, une période de 6 à 8 semaines est à prévoir avant le voyage afin de pouvoir recevoir la vaccination et les rappels nécessaires.


En tant qu'adulte, est-ce que je devrais mettre à jour ma vaccination de base avant de m'envoler vers un pays étranger?

À tout âge, il est important d'évaluer si une mise à jour de votre vaccination de base est nécessaire. Un expert en santé-voyage est alors votre meilleur conseiller!

Lors de votre consultation avant le voyage, ayez toujours en main votre carnet de vaccination afin que nous puissions mieux déterminer vos besoins.


Qu'est ce que c'est le certificat internationale de vaccination ?

Ce certificat n'est valable que si le vaccin ou l'agent prophylactique utilisé a été approuvé par l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé.

Ce certificat doit être signé de la main du clinicien - médecin ou autre agent de santé agréé - qui supervise l'administration du vaccin ou de l'agent prophylactique; il doit aussi porter le cachet officiel du centre habilité qui ne peut, toutefois, être considéré comme tenant lieu de signature.

Toute correction ou rature sur le certificat ou l'omission d'une quelconque des informations demandées peut entraîner sa nullité.

Ce certificat est valable jusqu'à la date indiquée pour le vaccin ou l'agent prophylactique administré. Il doit être établi intégralement en anglais ou en français. Le même certificat peut aussi être établi dans une autre langue, en plus de l'anglais ou du français.


Est-ce que je dois prendre du Dukoral à chaque fois que je pars ?

La protection contre la diarrhée des voyageurs causée par ETEC et contre le choléra commence environ 1 semaine après la prise de la dernière dose.

La protection contre la diarrhée des voyageurs causée par ETEC dure 3 mois.

La protection contre le choléra dure 2 ans chez les adultes et les enfants de 6 ans et plus, et 6 mois chez les enfants de 2 à 6 ans. Si vous avez pris DUKORAL® au cours des 5 dernières années, une seule dose de rappel renouvellera votre protection Un emballage contenant une dose de rappel unique de DUKORAL® est offert à votre pharmacie, et doit être pris une semaine avant votre départ.


Vaccination est-ce vraiment nécessaire, j'ai toujours voyagé sans vaccin et je n'ai jamais rien contracté ?

Selon votre destination, la durée du voyage, le type de voyage et votre état de santé, vous pourriez avoir besoin de vaccins voyage afin de vous protéger contre certaines maladies graves à l'étranger. Ces vaccins ont un degré d'efficacité élevé, qui se situe pour la plupart entre 70% et 99%. De plus, certains auront une durée d'efficacité prolongée, allant même jusqu'à plus de 20 ans.

Des vaccins sont obligatoires pour l'entrée dans certains pays, et d'autres sont fortement recommandés pour protéger votre santé.


Les enfants doivent-ils recevoir eux aussi des vaccins de voyage?

La santé des enfants est aussi fragile que celle des adultes. Il est donc recommandé que tous les membres de la famille reçoivent la protection appropriée, selon la destination.


Je planifie un voyage « tout inclus », mais je compte réserver un hôtel 4 ou 5 étoiles. Dois-je malgré tout me faire vacciner?

Pour la plupart des destinations soleil, il est recommandé de recevoir un rappel des vaccins contre le tétanos, la poliomyélite, ainsi que l'hépatite A et B, et ce, peu importe la qualité de l'hôtel où vous comptez loger.

Malheureusement, nous rencontrons régulièrement des touristes ayant séjourné dans des hôtels 4 ou 5 étoiles qui reviennent avec des maladies qui auraient pu être prévenues par la vaccination.


Dépistage



Pourquoi faire un dépistage ITSS ?

Si vous soupçonnez avoir contracté une ITSS ou si vous avez des symptômes comme des écoulements vaginaux, urétraux ou des lésions nouvelles sur les organes génitaux, il faut évidemment consulter un médecin rapidement et passer un examen de dépistage.

La prévention des ITSS est importante, tant pour votre santé générale que pour celle de vos partenaires. Certaines ITSS peuvent avoir des conséquences importantes et sérieuses, comme des abcès, des infections étendues, la stérilité, ou l'association à certains cancers.Nier ou éviter l a question des ITSS vous soumet, vous et vos partenaires, à des risques de complications.

Le dépistage des ITSS fait partie de la vie sexuelle. Si vous avez un nouveau partenaire, il n'y a aucune honte à vous faire dépister ensemble. C'est une façon de montrer que vous tenez à lui, ou à elle, et que vous êtes une personne responsable


Qu'est ce qu'une infection de chlamydia, gonorrhée, etc ?

La chlamydia (klam-id-ja) est une bactérie composée de plusieurs souches pouvant provoquer différentes sortes d'infections. Alors que la Chlamydia pneumonia peut causer un genre de pneumonie et que la Chlamydia psittaci peut causer un autre genre de pneumonie (associée à l'exposition aux oiseaux), c'est la Chlamydia trachomatis qui est responsable de l'infection transmise sexuellement (ITS, anciennement MTS).

La gonorrhée, communément appelée chaude-pisse, dose ou blennorragie, est une infection transmise sexuellement (ITS, anciennement MTS) causée par la bactérie Neisseria Gonorrhea (ou gonocoque).


Est-ce que j'ai besoin d'avoir une prescription pour un Pap test / dépistage ?

Aucune prescription n'est nécessaire pour recevoir un pap test ainsi qu'un dépistage. Nous vous offrons ces services, incluant le traitement et les suivis. Lorsque nécessaire, nous collaborons avec votre médecin de famille et pouvons vous référer à un médecin traitant si vous n'avez pas de médecin.


Si un résultat est anormal, quel serait le suivi ?

Un résultat anormal ne signifie pas nécessairement qu'une femme a le cancer. Il peut être causé par :

  • une infection, comme une infection aux levures ou au virus du papillome humain (VPH)
  • une inflammation
  • un dispositif intra-utérin (DIU)
  • des changements précancéreux dans les cellules

Les options de suivi peuvent varier. Certains changements ou anomalies ne nécessitent pas de traitement selon leur gravité. Si un suivi médical est nécessaire, vous en serez avisé par notre infirmière.



 Veuillez noter que nous serons fermés, les vendredis 23 juin pour la  
 St-Jean Baptiste et 30 juin pour la fête du Canada.